Governance and Membership

Co-Chairs

The two BCLC co-chairs are appointed by the UGA Vice President for Research to represent the Athens-Clarke County and surrounding communities and the UGA community.

Community co-chair: Dr. Ralph Askren, Veterinarian
UGA co-chair: Fred Quinn, Ph.D., Professor and Head, UGA Department of Infectious Diseases, College of Veterinary Medicine

Members

NameTitleCommunity Represented
** Dr. Fred Quinn fquinn@uga.edu Professor and Head, Dept. of Infectious Diseases, College of Veterinary Medicine, UGAUGA infectious diseases research faculty
** Dr. Ralph Askren rmaskren@shoalcreek.comVeterinarianVeterinary medical community
Ms. Sarah Baines sbaines@uga.eduDirector of Development, School of Public and International Affairs, UGAAthens and surrounding area neighborhood associations
Ms. Allie Cox alliecox@uga.eduSr. Professional Development Leader, Human Resources, UGA UGA staff
Dr. Harry Dickerson hwd@uga.edu Associate Dean for Research, College of Veterinary Medicine, UGACollege of Veterinary Medicine representative
Ms. Marcheta Forrester marcheta@charter.netRetired EducatorAt-large Athens Clarke County and surrounding Communities
Mr. Marcus Head marcushead@gmail.comMicrobiologist, Senior Staff Officer, USDA Food Safety Inspection ServiceAt-large Athens-Clarke County community
Dr. Dan Hope dhopeiii@uga.edu UGA Faculty, RetiredUGA Institutional Biosafety Committee
Dr. Eric Lafontaine elafon10@uga.eduProfessor, Dept. of Infectious Diseases, College of Veterinary Medicine, UGAUGA high-level biocontainment research faculty
Mr. Justin McKinley mckinl4@uga.eduStudent, College of Veterinary MedicineUGA students
Ms. Allison Wright allison.wright@athensclarkecounty.comAthens-Clarke County CommissionerAthens-Clarke County elected official

The members of the BCLC reflect a range of perspectives in Athens-Clarke County and surrounding communities and at the University of Georgia. Members, appointed by the UGA Vice President for Research, serve three-year terms on the BCLC.

** Designates Co-chair

Ex-Officio Members

NameTitle
Mr. Steve Harris sharris@uga.edu Director, Office of Security & Emergency Preparedness, UGA
Ms. Terry Hastings thasting@uga.eduDirector, Research Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research, UGA
Dr. Chris King cking@uga.eduDirector, Office of Animal Care & Use; Associate Vice President for Research Compliance, UGA
Dr. Danny Mead dmead@uga.eduScientific Director of the Animal Health Research Center
Ms. Alison McCullick, amccull@uga.eduDirector, Community Relations, Office of Government Relations, UGA
Patrick Stockton pstock@uga.eduDirector, Office of Biosafety, UGA
Mr. Greg Trevor gregory.trevor@uga.eduExecutive Director, Media Communications, Office of Marketing and Communications
Chief Jimmy Williamson jwilliamson@police.uga.eduChief of Police, UGA
Mr. Elmer Gray ewgray@uga.eduUGA Staff Council Representative